Unit Test the Java Delegates

Hello,

I’m new to Camunda, and I need to test the Java Delegates in the solution. All that I’ve found out there are ways to test the process mocking the delegates. But what I want to create are test cases for the Delegate itself.

Is this something that can be done? If so, could you provide an example or point to a resource I can look at? Am I missing the point of unit testing processes in Camunda?

Thanks

1 Like

Hi @parroyo,

please check one of the following

does that help you?
Askar

Maybe, this code can help too,

import static org.fest.assertions.api.Assertions.assertThat;
import static org.mockito.Mockito.mock;
import static org.mockito.Mockito.when;

import org.camunda.bpm.engine.delegate.DelegateExecution;
import org.camunda.bpm.engine.test.ProcessEngineTestCase;
import org.junit.Test;
import org.junit.runner.RunWith;
import org.springframework.beans.factory.annotation.Autowired;
import org.springframework.test.context.ContextConfiguration;
import org.springframework.test.context.junit4.SpringJUnit4ClassRunner; 

@RunWith(SpringJUnit4ClassRunner.class)
@ContextConfiguration("classpath:applicationContext-test.xml")
public class GatherInformationTest extends ProcessEngineTestCase {

@Autowired
	private GatherInformation gatherInformation;

@Test
	public void testExecute() throws Exception {
		// preconditions
		DelegateExecution execution = mock(DelegateExecution.class);
		when(execution.getVariable("myVariable")).thenReturn("myValue");

// execute unit under test
		gatherInformation.execute(execution);

// postconditions
		assertThat(execution.getVariable("myVariable")).isEqualTo("myValue");
	}
}

Hi Osmar,

This one looks more simple. I’ll look into this. Thank you!

Hi Osmar / parroyo,

Can you please post sample code for junit testing.
I am facing some issue while calling delegateExecution.getVariableTypes , getting null pointer execption.