Special user task problem

Hello community,

I am new to camunda and try to model a special user task. The colleagues in my new company usually use an own user-pool for all the stuff, that happens in an user task. They activate the pool and return the input back to the main pool by using messages. You can see an example here:

Now it is my task to automate the processes, but I failed in implementing. Somehow I do not know, how to get this running. Please be so kind and give me some hints.

I know, that there are some ways, I could get it working. For example I could use a subprocess in the userlane. Or I could call a new bpmn-file representing the user-pool. Or I even could use message tasks to communicate between the two pools. … The problem is, that my colleagues wish to stay with their way of modeling the process as much as possible.

I hope you can understand, what I am trying to explain.

Greetings and big thanks from Germany
Georg

Change your “User Activity Required” task from a User Task to a Call Activity task. The Call Activity would be pointed to/linked to the User Pool.

1 Like

Hey StephenOTT,

thank you a lot for your quick answer. The “problem” is not to find a solution like that. I tried to describe exactly this solution directly under the inserted bpmn. The real challenge in my question is, not to change the user task into something else at all. I assume that is not possible, because the user task is not able to do, what my colleagues want to do with it. … Please allow me to describe the situation a little bit more in detail:

My department is teaching this way of modeling a User Task(!) (mentioned above) for some time now. They did not have any problems at all, because they did not try to automate the process yet.
Now it is my task to try to automate it and I failed. I asked them, to be flexible and change the User Task into a call activity or subprocess.