RestService Response from Process

Hi All,
I am a beginner, I am trying to invoke the process using a REST call, execute some processes(call external Rest service, execute some business logic) and respond back to REST call with the output from the processes.
Could you refer me to any examples?
I am following this example

The missing part is, how do I respond back to REST call with outcome from the processes.

Hi @BerndRuecker, Could you help me with this?

Hi camundacast.

Question: Do you only want to invoke synchronous rrequests in your process or will it be asynchronous (as shown in the linked example where AMQP is used)?

Cheers
Bernd

Hi @BerndRuecker,
Thanks for the response, There will be synchronous and asynchronous processes.

Thanks,
camundacast

In this case you have to wait until the process instance completes in the REST service which started the process instance. You could either do some polling or notify you back by some in-memory queue or callback. I know that I have sample code showing this, but I didn’t find it spontaneously. Pseudo-Code out of my head, might recall it not completely right - but might be a good starting point:

public static Map<String, BlockingQueue> queues;

myRestCall() {
  var pi = camunda.startProcessInstanceByKey(); 
  var queue = new BlockingQueue();
  queues.put(pi.getId(), queue);
  var  x = queue.poll( 3, SECONDS);
  if (x!=null) {
    // process instance finished :slight_smile:
   return xxx; 
  } else {
    // not yet done - what to do?
  }
}

And then you can add a listener:

NotifyListener implements ExecutionListener {
  public voud execute()  {
    Client.queues.get(pi.getId()).put("yeah - here you can transfer some result")
  }
}

Hi @BerndRuecker,
Thanks for the code, I am specifically looking for a way to capture the output from a process in the rest call, Lets assume all the synchronous processes.

@RequestMapping(method=RequestMethod.POST)