Questions about basic Understanding of the process engine

Hello,

I am new to the Camunda Process Engine and currently working with it inside my Spring Boot application as described here:

I am using my own custom REST API and behind it I am using the Java API and its services via DI. I have been working through the documentation and watching the tutorial videos to find out how to interact with my process instances. Yet I have difficulties to implement the logic for it.

Example: I provided a Form Key and Form Fields for a User Task with the Camunda Modeler. I implemented a TaskListener to interact with this Task (or ActivityInstance?) at creation time. According to the REST API documentation (Get Task Form Variables | docs.camunda.org) I would have to send a request to receive this data. Since I am using the Java API I am interested in the logic behind that REST endpoint. Currently I am extracting the TaskFormData into my own Model inside the TaskListener:

public class UserTaskFormListener implements TaskListener {

@Override
public void notify(DelegateTask delegateTask) {
    String taskId = delegateTask.getId();

ProcessEngine processEngine = ProcessEngines.getDefaultProcessEngine();
    FormService formService = processEngine.getFormService();

TaskFormData taskForm = formService.getTaskFormData(taskId);
    List<FormField> formFields = taskForm.getFormFields();

// logic for saving data to my own model (form)

delegateTask.setVariable(taskId, form);
}
}

This should save the form to the task and I can access a “VariableMap” which I can extract the form data again into my custom model at request time. Additionally I could just access the “TaskFormData” from here, which would make my TaskListener unnecessary. I would imagine to get a single Object with all information according to the modeler for example by the InstanceID or TaskID.