Need help modeling a dynamic website process

Hi everyone

I’m new to BPMN, but I have read through all the specifications, read a few books and watched several full length courses about BPMN. I did it all in a fairly short amount of time, and now my brain is a bit fried. I could use some help.

I’m trying to model a process that involves a website which changes its content depending on the country where it is accessed by the customer. Basically, before the user lands on the site, the backend system decides which content to show based on the IP address accessing the website, and then presents the appropriate content.

I can’t seem to figure out how to model that. I created a separate pool for the user and for the backend system. My first task is “attempt website access”. If I understand correctly, next step would be to message the Backend pool, which then returns the message to the customer pool. But how do I define which content will be shown to the user? I can’t really put an XOR gateway in the customer pool, because customer doesn’t really choose anything… the choice is done by the backend.

I hope this made sense. So yeah, any ideas?

How about something like this?

This assumes that your website is going to get the content from the content source.
If the process is supposed to get the content as well, then could have the "Determine which “content set” to show task be a “get content” task and pass a json object back to your website service to display content.

Hi Stepehen! Thanks for responding!

I was actually thinking of describing the flow of the customer… Here’s what I have modeled so far: