Keycloak Camunda Identity Provider Plugin

Hello, I am new to camunda and recently I’ve been trying to secure my camunda springboot application by using keycloak and I was following this article: GitHub - camunda-community-hub/camunda-bpm-identity-keycloak: Camunda Keycloak Identity Provider Plugin
So I basically cloned the repo ,pulled the configured docker image for keycloak as provided in the article and ran the springboot CamundaApplication in the directory camunda-bpm-identity-keycloak/examples/sso-kubernetes/src/main/java/org/camunda/bpm/extension/keycloak/showcase / with intellij ultimate.

On going to the http://localhost:8080/camunda I was successfully redirected to the keycloak sign-in page as expected:

but the issue is,
After logging in from the keycloak login page I got directed to the camunda login page also and there was a server error notification and no credentials are working so I’m not sure what could be causing this

Hi @Mako88 and welcome!

Keycloak can be very finicky about what it wants in terms of configuration, etc. Can you post some more details about how you’ve configured your Realm in Keycloak? Sometimes just a simple missed / in an allowed URL can cause problems.

I’ve had some experience with Keycloak, so hopefully I can help. (Now that you mention it, I should really go secure my Camunda-BPM-Run instance with Keycloak too.)

dg

2 Likes

Hi @davidgs . So I was using an already configured realm named camunda and I start that keycloak server by running a seperate docker compose file with the following :

`version: “3.3”

services:
jboss.keycloak:
build: .
#image: jboss/keycloak:14.0.0
image: gunnaraccso/keycloak.server:14.0.0
restart: always
environment:
TZ: Europe/Berlin
KEYCLOAK_USER: keycloak
KEYCLOAK_PASSWORD: keycloak1!
ports:
- “9001:8443”
- “9000:8080”`

After starting keycloak that’s when I then run my springboot application with the sso-kubernetes directory as my project file in intellij.