Java object serialization fails to decode after user task

Hi all,

As a heads up: I am new to both Camunda and Java :slight_smile:

My issue: I can serialize/deserialize a Java object in a delegate using execution.setVariable('varName', javaInstanceVariable);. The workflow has only service tasks (all delegate code) and a gateway and successfully serializes/deserializes the object in each step. However, if I add a User Task in between any of the service tasks, then the object is no longer deserialized correctly…all of the properties are null and the parameterless constructor is called. With only service tasks, the parameterless constructor is not called.

My setup: I’m using the prebuilt distribution of Camunda 7.7 with Tomcat 8.0.24 and can see the Java object’s values by simply logging them in each service task.

Details:
My class:

public class Project {
  private final Logger LOGGER = Logger.getLogger(Project.class.getName());
  public static enum Types {
     TYPE_1, TYPE_2, TYPE_3

private String _value;
    private Types(final String val) {
      _value = val;
    }

public String toString() {
      return _value;
    }
  }

private String id;
  private Types type;
  private String assignee;
  public Project() {}
  public Project(final String projectId, final Types projectType) {
    id = projectId;
    type = projectType;
  }

// setters and getters
}

In the first service task, I instantiate this class using data from the submitted form, and set it to a variable:

Project instance = new Project(execution.getVariable('id').toString(), Types.valueOf(execution.getVariable('type').toString());
execution.setVariable('instance', instance);

…and retrieve the value by using:
Project instance = (Project) execution.getVariable('instance');