How to set and get variables with inline scripts without getting errors

I am new to camunda and I run it with via docker. I try to implement a process only by using the camunda modeler and a bpmn file. My process requires some scripting but I do not get how scripting is supposed to work with more complex data stored in variables as they seem to be not avaiable anymore as soon as I store them.

I’ve tried to create an array with javascript and save it to a new variable:

var listAsJsonStr = execution.getVariable(listJson) //[ex1,ex2]
var listJson = JSON.parse(listAsJsonStr);
var myList = new Array();
for (var i = 0; i < listJson.length; i++) {
myList.push(listJson[i]);
}
execution.setVariable(‘accessibleList’, myList);

I noticed that the variable is not being saved as an array or a list but is somehow serialized with a json format. I see this type with this content by inspecting it in the cockpit:

jdk.nashorn.api.scripting.ScriptObjectMirror<java.lang.String,java.lang.Object>
{0:ex1,1:ex2}

However, as soon as I try to get that variable I get an error:

execution.getVariable("accessibleVariable");

Deserialization Error: Cannot deserialize object in variable ‘accessibleList’: SPIN/JACKSON-JSON-01007 Cannot construct java type from string ‘jdk.nashorn.api.scripting.ScriptObjectMirror<java.lang.String,java.lang.Object>’

I do not know how to store and retrieve more complex data types with the modeler.

Even if I set a variable in the modeler by providing one in an output parameter section, then set a new string value for this parameter and after that want to access this parameter via ${VariableName} the variable is not being found by the engine anymore although it is correctly displayed as ‘string’ in the cockpit. Edit: I tried to fetch that variable in an expression within a signal event. It seems like I had to explicitly provide the parameter as input parameter? Seems strange.