How to create asynchronous service task on Camunda

I am trying to create asynchronous service tasks, but I am not succeeding.
When I put a breakpoint on my Service A task, my Service B task does not execute because they are running on the same execution thread. How do I perform my task B independent of task A?

Log myClass execution.

Hello @Allison1,

Have you read the following documentation section?

In essence it explains how threads and the job executor work with the process instances to execute them. It also explains the default behavior of Async Service Tasks and how you could change the configuration so that you could perform task B independent of task A as per your use case.

After you’ve given it a read, please come back and let me know if you have any questions.

Regards,

Hi @patozgg

I got to read the documentation but didn’t quite understand how to make it work, I’m sorry I’m new to camunda and programming. Since I’m using SpringBoot camunda, would I have to have multiple process engines to run Task A independent of Task B?

I thought that in the quote below, because I marked as exclusive, he would perform my Tasks independently of each other.

An exclusive job cannot be performed at the same time as another exclusive job from the same process instance.

I was reading this section

but I’m in doubt because I still can’t reproduce my test of running my Task A independet from Task B.

Thanks =)

Hey @Allison1,

Welcome to Camunda!

There is no need , but possible…, to have another engine to run Task A independent of Task B. In your case, it is perfectly fine to use Springboot Camunda and one engine.