Help with Spring on Jboss: autowire JavaDelegate fails

Hello,
I’m new to Camunda. [Sorry, if this is repetitive or answered elsewhere. I’ve searched a lot and tried a number of examples, but I have not been able to get this to work.]

I’m trying to create a Camunda BPMN process on Jboss EAP 6.4 that uses a shared process engine and uses Spring for dependency injection.

I started with Camunda spring example from Github (link) that shows how to use spring java based config. This example worked fine for me on Tomcat, but I can’t get it to work on Jboss. The only thing I changed in the example is to change the SpringProcessApplication to a ServletProcessApplication as the SpringProcessApplication does not seem to work on Jboss (link).

The server log messages seem to indicate that the spring java config is working and the bean is known:

09:42:32,595 INFO [org.springframework.beans.factory.support.DefaultListableBeanFactory] (ServerService Thread Pool – 159) Pre-instantiating singletons in org.springframework.beans.factory.support.DefaultListableBeanFactory@8e987a5: defining beans [org.springframework.context.annotation.internalConfigurationAnnotationProcessor,org.springframework.context.annotation.internalAutowiredAnnotationProcessor,org.springframework.context.annotation.internalRequiredAnnotationProcessor,org.springframework.context.annotation.internalCommonAnnotationProcessor,org.springframework.context.annotation.internalPersistenceAnnotationProcessor,camundaConfig,camundaSpringConfig,camundaApplicationInitializer,org.springframework.context.annotation.ConfigurationClassPostProcessor.importAwareProcessor,processApplication,processEngineService,repositoryService,runtimeService,historyService,identityService,taskService,managementService,authorizationService,processEngine,getStarter,calculateInterestService]; root of factory hierarchy

However, when the Camunda ProcessEngine attempts to start the BPMN it cannot find the bean. The following is from the server log: