Execute Same workflow in Parallel

Hi, I am new to BPMN workflows and trying to understand how the process engine executes the same workflow(Same BPMN definition) in parallel.
Here is my use case:
We have a platform which publishes some data to BPMN Definition file by using variables, below is the line of snippet on how we send data to BPMN.

public String initiateProcess(WorkflowRequest workflowRequest)
{
 Map<String, Object> variables = new HashMap<>();
        variables.put("request", workflowRequest);
 ProcessInstance processInstance = processEngine.getRuntimeService().startProcessInstanceByKey(processId, variables);
}

Where processId is the BPMN definitionKey.
Now within BPMN workflow/definition file, i want to read these variables data and process it and then publish the processed data to some other external systems via REST APIs.

Here the problem is the method initiateProcess will be triggered very frequently for multiple times with in the application with different set of workflowRequest data. Which means we want to publish different set of data to the same external system via workflow for multiple times very frequently.

If i run above logic, sometimes i get variables value as null in BPMN service tasks, (even though the variable value is not null in the initiateProcess method) and some times we get an error saying the variable “request” already exist. I think parallel execution of same workflow/BPMN process definition is failing. Please help me out on how to execute the same workflow/BPMN process definition in parallel. I dont want to run service tasks in parallel, but wanted to run entire process definition (BPMN file) in parallel.

I am really looking for an answer on this, can anyone could reply to this question. Kindly let me know if you need any further details if the question is not clear. Thanks in advance.