Deploy .war-File to Camunda via Docker

Hey :slight_smile:

I did the 2 Camunda Tutorial for Java Developers but I am stuck at the point, when I need to deploy the .war-File.

I am using Docker to run Camunda. And I was able to deploy the war-File with the help of the GitHub documentation. So that was what I did:

docker run -d --name camunda -p 8080:8080 \
           -v /PATH/TO/DEMO/twitter.war:/camunda/webapps/twitter.war \
           camunda/camunda-bpm-platform:latest

First of all, how can I deploy .war-File to an existing and running container? Because with the above method I created a new container.

The process is now in Camunda, but if I start the process it shows no running instance of the process.

Any suggestion how I can fix this?

Attached you can find the .bpmn.

Thank you very much!

Cheers,
Matthiasprocess.bpmn (5.5 KB)

Hey Matthias,

For your question:

First of all, how can I deploy .war-File to an existing and running container?

I’m not a Docker expert, but I think that you can mount the whole /PATH/TO/DEMO directory, and map it to /camunda/webapps, instead of only the twitter.war archive. This way, you should be able to drop new archives in /PATH/TO/DEMO and they will be deployed on the running container.

For your question:

The process is now in Camunda, but if I start the process it shows no running instance of the process. Any suggestion how I can fix this?

Your BPMN process consists of ServiceTasks which do not introduce any wait states. This means that the whole process is executed in a single transaction, all at once. You won’t be able to see any running instances, but you should be able to see a Historic Process instance in the History view of the Process Definition.

As an alternative, you can introduce a UserTask in your process, which will block the process execution until that task is completed.

Best,
Nikola

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply!