Classpath for JavaDelegate

This a probably a absolute beginners mistake.
I downloaded the 7.6.0 Tomcat distribution and I trying to get my first JavaDelegate.

I have created a WAR file that contains 2 simple classes & a BPMN file.
When copying the war file to the webapp folder, the process deploys automatically.
I can start a process instance using the Tasklist webgui, the process blocks at the service task:

The process could not be started. : Cannot instantiate process definition test:9:b2ce937e-e483-11e6-873f-0ecf8b62d705: ENGINE-09008 Exception while instantiating class 'eu.telecomplaza.test.simpleDelegate': ENGINE-09017 Cannot load class 'eu.telecomplaza.test.simpleDelegate': eu.telecomplaza.test.simpleDelegate

package eu.telecomplaza.test;

import org.camunda.bpm.application.ProcessApplication;
import org.camunda.bpm.application.impl.ServletProcessApplication;

@ProcessApplication("Test app")
public class Application extends ServletProcessApplication {

public Application() {
    }
}

and the JavaDelegate:

package eu.telecomplaza.test;

import org.camunda.bpm.engine.delegate.DelegateExecution;
import org.camunda.bpm.engine.delegate.JavaDelegate;

public class simpleDelegate implements JavaDelegate{

public void execute(DelegateExecution execution) throws Exception {

execution.setVariable("channel", "EPT");
	}

}

Can someone help me in setting up the classpath correctly so that the JavaDelegate is found in the war file?

Could you please share the sources of your application on github?

The same problem occurs on the Camunda example on GitHub:

macOS Sierra, Java 8 OpenJDK, built with maven 3.5, deployed on the recommended Tomcat distribution from camunda.org/download

Hi @steffenbrand,

Could you please post exact (and minimal) steps to reproduce this?

Cheers,
Thorben

The steps were:

• Clone project from github.
  • Checkout Step-5.
  • Remove user-task from process.
  • Change delegate to just print something.
  • mvn clean install