Camunda with Camel

I’m working on a project implementing Apache Camel integration framework. I’ve been trying to use Camunda as an integration end point. I’m pretty new to Camunda, but i found an extension here: https://github.com/camunda/camunda-bpm-camel There is also a good example here: https://github.com/camunda/camunda-consulting/tree/master/showcases/camel-use-cases The problem is that the example uses JBoss and CDI, while our platform uses Tomcat and Spring.

The example triggers a Camel route when a file is dropped in particular directory. The route then starts a new Camunda process. I’ve run the example and the Camel portion works. I can see in the logs that it detects the file’s existence and processes it. However, when I run Camunda Cock Pit, it does not show the process as being started.

I am hoping that someone could see anything that i’m missing. Thanks.

Hi @red_storm,

is your code available somewhere on github?

Cheers,
Askar

@red_storm
Add your camunda db connection as following in the camel-context xml file.

<bean id="dataSource" class="org.apache.commons.dbcp.BasicDataSource" destroy-method="close">
            <property name="driverClassName" value="org.postgresql.Driver" />
            <property name="url" value="jdbc:postgresql://localhost:5432/camunda" />
            <property name="username" value="postgres" />
            <property name="password" value="postgres" />
</bean>

Start Process as following. Define process definition key your bpmn file. In the following example CamelProcessStart is the camunda process definition key.

<camelContext id="camelContext" xmlns="http://camel.apache.org/schema/spring">
           <route id="startRoute">
               <from uri="timer://simpleTimer?period=60000" />
               <camel:setBody>
                       <camel:simple>${body}</camel:simple>
               </camel:setBody>