Camunda stops working when SQL server has been rebooted

Dear all, I am very new to Camunda so please bear with me if my questions are stupid.

This is what I see. When rebooting the back-end SQL server, the front-end webserver stops working and throws an internal server error 500. To fix it, I must restart the apache tomcat service…
What I see in the stderr-log is this:
"jun 29, 2017 10:51:05 AM org.camunda.commons.logging.BaseLogger logError
SEVERE: ENGINE-16004 Exception while closing command context:

Error querying database. Cause: org.apache.ibatis.transaction.TransactionException: Error configuring AutoCommit. Your driver may not support getAutoCommit() or setAutoCommit(). Requested setting: false. Cause: java.sql.SQLException: Invalid state, the Connection object is closed.

The error may exist in org/camunda/bpm/engine/impl/mapping/entity/User.xml

The error may involve org.camunda.bpm.engine.impl.persistence.entity.UserEntity.selectUserCountByQueryCriteria

The error occurred while executing a query

Cause: org.apache.ibatis.transaction.TransactionException: Error configuring AutoCommit. Your driver may not support getAutoCommit() or setAutoCommit(). Requested setting: false. Cause: java.sql.SQLException: Invalid state, the Connection object is closed.

org.apache.ibatis.exceptions.PersistenceException:

Error querying database. Cause: org.apache.ibatis.transaction.TransactionException: Error configuring AutoCommit. Your driver may not support getAutoCommit() or setAutoCommit(). Requested setting: false. Cause: java.sql.SQLException: Invalid state, the Connection object is closed.

The error may exist in org/camunda/bpm/engine/impl/mapping/entity/User.xml

The error may involve org.camunda.bpm.engine.impl.persistence.entity.UserEntity.selectUserCountByQueryCriteria

The error occurred while executing a Query