Camunda BPM and Existing External Application

Hello Community,

I am a beginner in Camunda BPM. Currently I am evaluating Camunda for a potential product to use at work. I have watched multiple YouTube videos; specially the ones done by Niall, they are excellent. I have been in the forum reading through the discussions and I read few Cumanda documentations.

I am wondering if I can user Camunda BPM as per the following:
I have an existing application with UI frontend and a huge SQL database at the backend. I want to remove the business logic from the application and create it in Camunda BPM using Modeler and DMN. To do that I will need to read from the SQL database, feed the data to the DMN decision table and then based on the output of the DMN I will need to update or insert records into the SQL database.

So can I achieve this with Camunda BPM and communicate this way with the external application?
Any other suggestions or ideas?

Appreciate the feedback and help.

Hi @Maysa ,

Database(RDBMS) is prerequisite for camunda application. You can check supported databases and the version compatibility table here:

Extract the code which is only required for process execution flow, incase your process application is shared/container managed or standalone process application.

Another option is, without extracting the code from the business application you can embed the process engine with in the existing application itself.

DMN usage is depends on your business usecase, also DMN is optional. In your applictaion if you have the requirements for business decisions, then opt for DMN.

Overall, its possible to setup camunda for your business usecase.

Installation: Install Camunda BPM | docs.camunda.org

Architecture Overview: Architecture Overview | docs.camunda.org

Process engine services accessbility:
Rest API Docs : (Rest Api Reference | docs.camunda.org)
Java API Docs : (Camunda BPM Javadocs 7.11.21-ee)

External Task:
Docs: External Tasks | docs.camunda.org