Camelunda 0.0001

Hello,

I am working for a startup that has chosen Camunda as an engine for their product for its responsive community and convenient web editor. As a product manager, I am concerned with customer’s satisfaction and product ease of use. While we believe that standards (namely BPMN) are key for reducing the cost of learning the product, we decided to introduce some extensions to speed up the integration possibilities of a process engine.

We know that there are many integration points in Camunda like web services, integration bus and Apache Camel extension elements, we still find that as an integration tool, Camel is still the most developed, though with its xml/java configuration it lacks a lot of convenience.

I suggested that I prototype a solution that embeds Camel possibilities into Camunda graphical representation of process routes, we test its performance and hopefully present it to our customers as a building tool for their needs.

To achieve this, I have changed the notion of BPMN messages. They are now Camel endpoints, and instead of message name a user provides a Camel URI.

With this we get unlimited integration possibilities together with interprocess messaging if we use Camel’s “direct” or “seda” protocols.

Take a look at examples below:

This process reads a CSV file, transforms it to JSON and writes to another file. Editing extensions looks like the following:

The starting message event is basically a file polling Camel endpoint. Once a CSV file appears, Camunda starts this process, which with its first step puts file contents as a java Map into the “content” variable. The next step is pure Camunda service task, it turns the Map into JSON using Spin. The ending message throwing event takes “json” as the message body and writes it into a file.

This was able to be done with existing Camel integration, but would require editing two Camel routes in an xml file.

We may go further and even generate a response to the Camel route.