Calling an external API in Service task and wait for callback in next process

Hello,

I am very new to Camunda. I am trying to achieve a scenario where one service task will call a external REST API to validate some data (it might take few hours to validate in the external system) and it should be async and once the next process (may be a receive task) gets some kind of callback it will continue. Please suggest what will be the best approach to achieve this.
Please find below the image for reference. I have created one more box at top just to simulate external system.

Is this being built for execution or simply for design?

Hello Niall,

We are planning to build it for execution but what I mean was “External System” Pool/Participant is only for simulation as an external system.
Objective is to call a REST API to pass some data along with file name and the external system will process it but may take some time (an hour may be and so thinking of async task) and the next task will wait for the response of the request submitted in the previous step. Please find below the complete BPMN. Tasks marked inside red circle “Call external Service for data validation” is calling external system (java delegate calling external REST API) and I am thinking “Wait for Response” should process once it receive the response from the external application. Is this the best way or please suggest to achieve it in better way.
Once response received we will process it based on the response.

What you have there is pretty close to what i would suggest with a small change.
I would used a “collapsed pool” instead of send a message to a lone task in a pool. You can see an example here:
https://cawemo.com/shares/a544ad40-48e8-477b-94e2-23f69e182205

Thanks Niall,