Bottom-up intro of BPMN / DMN in a company

Hi everyone and thanks for having me on the forum!

I’ve tried to convince my employer, an online tutoring platform, to try out Camunda (first for BPMN, and then for DMN), but had no success so far. I’d like to share my experience and ask for opinions on introducing a process engine bottom-up. Maybe somebody has tried that as well, it would be great to hear your stories!

I’m a frontend dev most of the time and fullstack when there’s a problem I can fix - Camunda is interesting because the product development requires our team to communicate about business logic. By having BL clear within the team I believe we can iterate over that better - right now we iterate over UX/UI and copy mostly.

Here’s my experience:

First round: File uploads vs e-mail attachments
A friend was frustrated by the email-based process at his employer, an automotive supplier company. The process in BPMN would have been a sequence of file uploads from different people, with an audit at the end. I was freelancing, and implemented a working prototype in a day. I presented videos of the prototype, they were watched, there were internal discussions and then no progress. We guess that at some point company politics halted the project.

Second round: BPMN vs a customized Django Admin Panel